Mini waterfall and pool

This was a run off in a ditch by the side of the road. What originally caught my eye was the many drops it was taking as the road went downhill. I didn’t find it particularly interesting but then I noticed the little eddies that were happening around the branch in the water. What was gross about it was that there was what looked like foamy water and I thought pollution. What I found out is that it’s a natural phenomenon (termed ‘surfactant’) caused by “Diminished surface tension allows air bubbles to persist at the water’s surface”. I ended up taking a 6 second shot so that I could get a better record of the eddies as the ‘froth’ moved in the current.

mini waterfalls with eddies

mini waterfall with eddies

Leave a Reply

